February 8 Burlington Edges Elkhorn in Southern Lakes

For the second consecutive year, the Burlington Demons turned the tables on the Elkhorn Elks at the Southern Lakes Conference tournament.

Elkhorn knocked off Burlington to start in an early dual meet, but the Demons found a way to win the tournament title by scoring 255 points to edge Elkhorn (253) at the eight team tournament.

Burlington sent eight wrestlers to the finals and had five individuals win championships. Elkhorn sent nine wrestlers to the finals and came away with four champions.

The teams split their head-to-head matches in the finals but Burlington pulled the title out late with titles at 220 and 285.

At 220, Burlington junior Hegeman Tiedt defeated Delavan-Darien senior Ricardo Cruz by a pin in 4 minutes to win the title. Burlington senior Nick Otter followed with a pin of Lake Geneva Badger junior Cole Mikrut in the 285 final and Burlington took home the team title.

Burlington senior Ben Hornickle won the 138 title by defeating Elkhorn sophomore Riley Remington by a 13-0 major decision. It was Hornickle’s fourth conference title after winning the 106 title in 2012, the 113 title in 2013 and the 126 title in 2014.

Waterford junior Justin Ratkovec won his third title by pinning Badger freshman Stevie Kraus in 54 seconds in the 113 final. Ratkovec pinned all of his opponents in the first period. Ratkovec also won the 106 title in 2013 and 2014.

Waterford senior Max Fisher won his third championship by defeating Elkhorn senior John Olsen by a 11-2 major decision in the 145 final. Fisher won the 138 title in 2013 and the 145 title a year ago.