2014-15 Honor Roll

Coach of the year: DarrellRoecker, Wisconsin Lutheran.                             Wrestler of the year:     Jordan Gundrum, West Bend East.

First team

106: Aaron Schulist, fr., Mukwonago: Rolled into the D1 final before losing to Stoughton sophomore Brandon Klein, 5-2. Finished the year with a 42-6 record.

113: Tyus White, jr., West Allis Central:  Won the 106 title a year ago and reached the D1 final at 113 before losing to Janesville Craig senior Airk Furseth, 2-1, in overtime. Finished 38-7.

120: Nathan Smith, jr., Mukwonago: One of the strongest lightweights in the area, Smith won the D1 title by toppling previously undefeated La Crosse Central sophomore Jaden Van Mannen, 6-3, in the final. Finished season at 40-3.

126: Justin Folley, jr., Wauwatosa West. Won the D1 126 title by defeating Stoughton senior Zach Hasselberger, 7-4, in the final. Became Tosa’s first state champion.

132: Josh Bird, jr., Burlington. Three-time state finalist and two-time state champion defeated Kaukauna senior Tres Leon by a 12-10 decision in the final at 132. Overcame a 6-1 deficit to win the title and finished with a record of 46-2. Bird lost rematch with Leon, 8-6, at the state team tournament. Won the 120 title as a freshman.

138: Ben Hornickle, sr., Burlington. Four-time state qualifier reached the final before losing to three-time state champion Robert Lee of Kaukauna, 5-4. Finished season with a record of 52-2 and beat Lee, a four-time finalist, by a 9-3 decision at the state team tournament.

145: Max Fisher, sr., Waterford. Overcame serious elbow injury in late December and went on to win the 145 D1 title by defeating defending state champion Joe Ziolkowski of Schofield D.C. Everest. Finished 29-0 and handed Ziolkowski (44-1) first loss of year. 

152: Jason Ipsarides, sr., Cedarburg: Finished third in D1 with a record of 51-1 in fourth trip to state tournament and placed for the first time.

160: Jordan Gundrum, sr., West Bend East: Won the D1 title in fourth trip to state.

170: Beau Breske, jr., Hartford: Won the D1 152 title as a freshman and the 170 title a year ago but lost for the first time to a state wrestler in three years when he was defeated by Merrill senior Mason Reinhardt, 5-4, in double overtime in the 170 final this year.

182: Anthony Schlass, so., West Bend West: Emerged as the top wrestler in the area at this weight class and finished fifth with a 45-10 record in D1.

195: Ross Agg, jr., Oak Creek: Lost his first match at the state tournament and placed the hard way, wrestling back for a third-place finish in D1 with a 38-7 record.

220: Brett Samson, jr., Oconomowoc: Three-time qualifier advanced to the finals for the first time but was defeated by Bay Port senior Alec Ingold, 9-2. Finished year with a 47-2 record with only losses to Ingold.

285: Quinton Reid, jr., Wisconsin Lutheran: Finished third in D2 with a record of 51-2 after finishing fourth a year ago at 285.

Second team:

106: Nathan Hensley, so., Whitnall/Greendale. Finished third in D1 with a record of 50-5 in first trip to state tournament.

113: Damien McCray, sr., Racine Horlick. Finished third in D1 with record of 55-2.

120: Anthony Senthavisouk, sr., Whitnall/Greendale: Reached semifinals in D1 and wrestled back to finish third with record of 41-8.

126: Tepra Wright, sr., Wisconsin Lutheran: Wright finished his career as the top wrestler in Lutheran history. Won the 120 title a year ago and finished second this year with a record of 44-2.

132: Gabe Braam, jr., East Troy: Finished fourth in D2 with a record of 31-12.

138: Ben  Reagan, sr., Wauwatosa West/East: In a bracket with two returning state champions, Reagan finished fourth with a record of 42-4. 

145: Frank Garcia, fr., Kenosha Tremper: Finished fourth with a record of 49-8 and was one of only two freshmen at 145 or heavier to place in D1 at state tournament.

152: Marcus Morrow, sr., Wauwatosa West/East: Finished sixth with record of 44-6 in D1.

160: Ben Hakes, sr., Oak Creek: Another wrestler who overcame mid-season injury, Hakes finished second in D1 with a record of 28-2. 

170: Jacob Rashka, so., Pewaukee: Two-time state qualifier finished fourth in D1 with a 51-4 record.

182: Elijah Paez, sr., Oak Creek: Finished sixth in D1 with a record of 40-7.

195: Christian Dischler, sr., Pewaukee: Finished sixth in D1 with a record of 38-13.

220: Bryce Roberts, jr., Wisconsin Lutheran: Reached semifinals in D2 and went on to finish third with a record of 47-5.

285: Kyle Polum, sr., Cedarburg: Four-time state qualifier finished third in D1 with a record of 48-4.

Honorable mention:

106: Zach Szohr, jr., Germantown, 32-2; Tyler Roecker, jr., Wisconsin Lutheran, 47-7.

113: Peyton Mocco, fr., West Allis Hale, 41-4; Justin Ratkovec, jr., Waterford, 40-7. 

120: Bill Holz, Menomonee Falls, 44-6; Cody Vogel, jr., East Troy, 45-4.

126: Aidan Yde, Hartland Arrowhead, 39-11; Tere White, sr., West Allis Central, 43-2.

 132: Jose Gonzalez, jr., Milwaukee Pulaski, 20-7.

138: Jake Morgan, jr., Wilmot, 33-3; Isaac Lodise, sr., Pewaukee, 43-11; Andy Strey, sr., East Troy, 42-3.

145: Diremius Gordon, sr., Milwaukee Bradley Tech, 39-7.

152: Eric Martinson, sr., Whitnall/Greendale, 36-9.

160: Jared Krattiger, fr., Waterford, 43-2; Oscar Ramos, jr., Kenosha Bradford, 38-4; Jeremy Dedick, jr., East Troy, 33-7. 

170: Brady McFarland, sr., Muskego, 29-6.

182: Maurice Lowe, Milwaukee Bradley Tech, 40-8.

195: Gage Zupke, sr., Homestead, 27-3.

220: Blaze Beltran, so., Pewaukee, 48-6; Cole Ryan, sr., Union Grove, 28-7; La’Ryan Johnson, sr., Kenosha Bradford, 31-4.

285:Cole Mikrut, jr., Lake Geneva Badger, 33-9; Sam Gromacki, sr., Waukesha Catholic Memorial, 40-8; Romel Turner, sr., Milwaukee Pulaski, 33-5.